List of Awardees


This award was established by Ferring Pharmaceuticals in 1984, as a commemoration of Josef Rudinger’s role in the foundation of European Peptide Symposia and diverse contributions he made to peptide chemistry. There is no restriction as to nationality, age or position of those nominated, but they must be distinguished.
The winners are listed below.

2024 Fernando Albericio and David Andreu
University of KwaZulu-Natal & University of Barcelona and
Uiversitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain

2020 Herbert Waldmann
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Dortmund, Germany

2018 James P. Tam
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

2016 Jean Martinez
University Montpellier, France

2014 Ernest Giralt
University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain

2012 David J. Craik
The University of Queensland, Australia

2010 Stephen B. H. Kent
University of Chicago, USA

2008 Horst Kessler and Manfred Mutter
Technical University of Munich, Germany and
University of Lausanne, Switzerland

2006 Ettore Benedetti and Claudio Toniolo
University of Napoli “Frederico II”, Italy and
University of Padova, Italy

2004 Luis Moroder
Max-Planck-Institute fur Biochemie, Martinsried, Germany

2002 Sandor Bajusz and Kalman Medzihradszky
IVAX-Institute of Drug Research, Budapest, Hungary and Department
of Organic Chemistry, Eotvos L. University, Budapest, Hungary

2000 Bernard P. Roques
INSERM, CNRS, Paris, France

1998 Shumpei Sakakibara
Peptide Institute, Osaka, Japan

1996 Ralph Hirschmann
University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA

1994 Robert C. Sheppard
MRC, Cambridge, United Kingdom

1992 Viktor Mutt
Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden

1990 R. Bruce Merrifield
The Rockefeller University, New York, USA

1988 Erich Wunsch
Max-Planck-Institut fur Biochemie, Munich, Germany

1986 Robert Schwyzer
ETH Zurich, Switzerland




This award was established by Bachem Inc. USA in 1984, in commemoration of Leonidas Zervas and the outstanding contributions he made to peptide chemistry.
The winners are listed below.

2024 Ashraf Brik
The Schulich Faculty of Chemistry, The Technion Institute of Technology, Israel

2020 Gilles Subra and Ali Tavassoli
University Montpellier, France and
University of Southampton, United Kingdom

2018 Christian P. R. Hackenberger
Leibniz-Research Institute for Molecular Pharmacology and Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Berlin, Germany

2016 Christian Becker
University of Vienna, Austria

2014 Miguel Castanho and Phillip Dawson
University of Lisbon , Portugal and
The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla,USA

2012 Knud J. Jensen
University of Copenhagen, Denmark

2010 Helma Wennemers
University of Basel, Switzerland

2008 Anna Maria Papini
University of Florence, Italy

2006 Carlos Garcнa-Echeverrнa
Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, Basel, Switzerland

2004 Helene Gras-Masse
Institut Pasteur de Lille, France

2002 Thomas W. Muir
Rockefeller University, New York, USA

2000 Antonello Pessi
Instituto di Ricerche di Biolog ica Moleculare P. Angeletti, Rome, Italy

1998 Annette G. Beck-Sickinger
ETH Zurich, Switzerland

1996 Morten Meldal
Carlsberg Laboratory, Valby, Denmark

1994 Ernest Giralt and Fernando Albericio
University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain

1992 Gunther Jung
University of Tubingen, Tubingen, Germany

1990 Michal Lebl and Jean Martinez
Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences, Prague and
CNRS, Montpellier, France

1988 Alex Eberle
University of Basel, Basel, Switzerland




This award was established by BCN Peptides in 2014, in commemoration of Miklós Bodanszky’s outstanding contributions to peptide science. The award is given to the scientist who made significant contributions to peptide-based drug research in the period of ten years after having obtained the PhD degree.
The winners are listed below.

2024 César de la Fuente
University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA

2020 Kathrin Lang
Laboratory of Organic Chemistry, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

2018 Norman Metanis
Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

2016 Maja Köhn and Markus Muttenthaler
European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Germany and
Institute for Molecular Bioscience, The University of Queensland