2018 Best Paper Award Announced

Many congratulations to: Sergej Schwagerus, Oliver Reimann, Clement Despres, Caroline Smet‐Nocca and Christian P. R. Hackenberger For their award-winning article: Semi‐synthesis of a tag‐free O‐GlcNAcylated tau protein by sequential chemoselective ligation How can I win the PSC Best Paper Award 2019?Every research article published in Journal of Peptide Science in 2017 and 2018 will be on the shortlist for the 2019 Award. The Editors will choose the winner based on the number of citations, on the number of Continue reading

Peptide Companion – Excel Version – Community Project

Maybe you have heard about, or actually you may have used in your peptide synthesis endeavours the program called Peptide Companion. This program was written by Michal Lebl, Viktor Krchnak, and Jiri Lebl in 1992 and is still installed on many peptide chemist’s computers across laboratories everywhere. However, upgrades to new versions of Windows have made it unusable. We were approached by several peptide chemists with a question when we will make a new version Continue reading

Funded Ph.D. position at the School of Biological Sciences, University of Auckland

We are seeking a well-qualified and highly motivated candidate for the position of a doctoral student to carry out a peptide-based drug-design project involving a multi-disciplinary approach. The project targets the interaction between endoplasmic reticulum (ER) chaperone ERp44 and the collagenous hormone adiponectin. Adiponectin, abundantly and exclusively secreted from adipocytes (fat cells), exerts a wide range of beneficial functions against obesity-associated pathologies and is a potent biotherapeutic. In the ER, ERp44 tightly regulates oligomerization of Continue reading

A report on PepMat 2018

This meeting was the third in the international series of PepMat meetings, the first was in Sorrento, Italy in 2013 and the second was in Barcelona, Spain in 2016. The meetings are dedicated to presenting state-of-the-art research in peptide materials including peptide bio- and nano-materials. PepMat 2018 took place from 16th to 18th July 2018 in Birkbeck College, London. Birkbeck College, founded in 1823, is located in the Bloomsbury district of central London which has Continue reading

A Report on the congress “RiminiPeptides2018”

The congress “RiminiPeptides2018” takes stock of the applications of peptides and conjugates for tumor targeting, therapy and diagnosis The congress “RiminiPeptides2018” took place in Rimini from 16th to 18th June 2018, in the Campus of Rimini of the University of Bologna, via Angherà 22, Rimini, involving over 130 participants from Europe (Italy, Germany, France, Spain, UK, Finland, Hungary, Sweden, Portugal, San Marino, and Switzerland), USA, Australia, Iran, China, and Korea. The congress was organized in 4 Continue reading

A Report on the 2nd Meeting of the Italian Peptide Society

The 2nd meeting of the Italian Peptide Society (ItPS) has been held at the Congress Center of the University of Naples ‘Federico II’ on June 5-6, 2018. The event, organized with the efforts of the members of the ItPS Scientific Committee has had an high attendance with the participation of more than 80 members of the recently born Italian Peptide Society and some invited guests from Italy and foreign countries. During the two days meeting Continue reading

10th International Peptide Symposium and 55th Japanese Peptide Symposium

Dear European Peptide Society Members, As you may be aware, the 10th International Peptide Symposium (10th IPS), in conjunction with the 55th Japanese Peptide Symposium (55th JPS), will be held this coming December 3 to 7 in Kyoto, Japan. (https://www.aeplan.co.jp/10thips/) Scheduled talks include Plenary Lectures to be given by Professor Dale Boger (The Scripps Institute) and Professor William DeGrado (University of California, San Francisco), and presentations by invited speakers working on different fields in peptide Continue reading

Special Issue of Journal of Peptide Science dedicated to the 7th International Meeting on Antimicrobial Peptides

2018 Journal of Peptide Science

This recently published special issue originates from the scientific contributions at the 7th International Meeting on Antimicrobial Peptides held in Copenhagen, at the Panum Center at the University of Copenhagen on 25-27 August 2017. The conference was organized under the auspices of Roskilde University, the University of Copenhagen, and the Protein & Peptide Science Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry. The chairmen were Paul Robert Hansen and Håvard Jenssen. Read Håvard Jenssen’s editorial for Continue reading

Miklós Bodanszky Award 2018

The Miklos Bodanszky Award is presented every two years, during the European Peptide Symposium, in commemoration of Miklos Bodanszky’s contributions to peptide research, to a young scientist who has in the opinion of the General Assembly of the Society made the most outstanding contribution to peptide research in the period of maximum ten years after obtaining the PhD degree. The Award is presented during the EPS Symposium and is sponsored by BCN Peptides. The 2018 Continue reading

Leonidas Zervas Award 2018

The Leonidas Zervas Award is presented in commemoration of his outstanding contributions to peptide science. The award is given to the scientist who has made the most outstanding contributions to the chemistry, biochemistry and/or biology of peptides in the five years preceding the date of selection, and is sponsored by the donation of Dr. Rao Makineni. The 2018 awardee is Christian P. R. Hackenberger. Congratulations! Christian P. R. Hackenberger, born 1976 in Osnabrück, studied chemistry Continue reading