Josef Rudinger Memorial Award

The Josef Rudinger Memorial Lecture Award is presented “in commemoration of Josef Rudinger’s role in the foundation of the European Peptide Symposia and of diverse contributions he made to peptide chemistry”. The Award is presented during the EPS Symposium and is sponsored by PolyPeptide Group.

The 2016 awardee is Jean Martinez. Congratulations!

The 2016 awardee is Prof. Jean Martinez

Jean Martinez

Jean Martinez received both his PhD in 1972 from the University of Montpellier 2, at the National School of Chemistry and his Dr Sciences Degree in 1976 from the same University, under the supervision of Professor F. Winternitz. The same year, he joined Dr E. Bricas group at Orsay, University of Paris Sud, as a post-doctorate fellow and in 1977 the laboratory of Professor M. Bodanszky at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio, USA, where he stayed till mid 1979.

Jean Martinez is a Full Professor at the University of Montpellier. In 2007, he created the « Institut des Biomolécules Max Mousseron » (IBMM), which he has been the Director until December 2014. He is actually Head of the Department of Amino Acids, Peptides and Proteins at IBMM.

He served the University of Montpellier 1 as a Member of the Scientific Council for 8 years, and as Vice-President for 6 years (2009-2014).

Prof. Martinez is recognized for his important contributions, at the interface of chemistry and biology, to the development of methodology in organic and peptide synthesis, design and synthesis of various potent and selective neuropeptide analogues, and biomaterials containing biomolecules.

He has published over 800 original papers, 50 patents, numerous review articles, and he has been editor of several books. In 2012, he was accepted into the « Académie Nationale de Pharmacie », France, and in 2014 into the « Real Academia Nacional de Farmacia », Spain. In 2015, he has been nominated Docteur Honoris causa of the University of Kracow, Poland. He has received various prizes including the Leonidas Zervas Award (1990), the Silver Medal CNRS (1996), the Max Bergmann Medal (2004), the Cathay Award (2006), the Akabori Award (2006), the Ehrlich Award (2011), the Roche « Johannes Meinhofer Award » (2011), the Léon Velluz Award (2015). He is « Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques » (2010), and Chevalier dans l’Ordre de la Légion d’Honneur (2011).

Jean Martinez served the European Peptide Society as French Representative, Member of the Executive Committee (1991-1998), Scientific Officer (1998-2001), and President (2001-2010).

The Josef Rudinger Memorial Award will be presented at the Opening Ceremony (Sunday, September 4, 16:30-19:00, Auditorium Maximum, Paulinum) of the 34th European Peptide Symposium, Leipzig, Germany.

“Josef Rudinger Memorial Lecture” Recipients

2014 Ernest Giralt
Institute for Research in Biomedicine, Barcelona, Spain
2012 David J. Craik
University of Queensland, Australia
2010 Stephen B. H. Kent
University of Chicago, USA
2008 Horst Kessler & Manfred Mutter (shared)
Technical University of Munich
& Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland
2006 Ettore Benedetti & Claudio Toniolo (shared)
University of Napoli & University of Padova, Italy
2004 Luis Moroder
Max-Planck-Institute für Biochemie, Martinsried, Germany
2002 Sándor Bajusz & Kálmán Medzihradszky (shared)
IVAX-Institute of Drug Research
& Eötvös L. University, Budapest, Hungary
2000 Bernard P. Roques
INSERM, CNRS, Paris, France
1998 Shumpei Sakakibara
Peptide Institute, Osaka, Japan
1996 Ralph Hirschmann
University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA
1994 Robert C. Sheppard
MRC, Cambridge, United Kingdom
1992 Viktor Mutt
Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden
1990 R. Bruce Merrifield
The Rockefeller University, New York, USA
1988 Günther Jung
University of Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany
1986 Erich Wünsch
Max-Planck-Institüt für Biochemie, Münich, Germany
1984 Robert Schwyzer
ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply